About us

Computational Geology RWTH Aachen University.

The research institute “Computational Geosciences and Reservoir Engineering”, led by Prof. Florian Wellmann, is at the interface between the geosciences (including geophysics), computer science, engineering and mathematics. We are researching topics for the quantification of uncertainties in geoscientific systems, the characterization of geological complexity and the ability to predict fluid and transport processes underground. We consistently use the latest methodological developments in mathematics and computer science in the areas of uncertainty quantification and machine learning and integrate these methods into 3-D geological modelling and process simulations, for example to test geothermal and hydrogeological model forecasts.

Furthermore, our methods are applied in the field of raw materials analysis and in research topics in structural geology and geophysics. We also focus on the development of methods for communicating the underground complexity and the associated uncertainties through the combination of virtual and augmented reality techniques.

The profile of the group is thus strongly interdisciplinary, between methodological-technical developments, geoscientific questions and practical applications and fits in excellently with them.

_images/institute.JPG

GemPy’s development core team:

Benevolent Dictator:

Miguel de la Varga (varga@aices.rwth-aachen.de)

Sandbox project:

Simon Virgo (s.virgo@ged.rwth-aachen.de)

Remote Geomod:

  1. Florian Wellmann (wellmann@aices.rwth-aachen.de)
  2. Alex Schaaf (a.schaaf@abdn.ac.uk)

Contributors:

  1. Elisa Heim (elisa.heim@rwth-aachen.de)
  2. Fabian Stamm (fabian.stamm@rwth-aachen.de)
  3. Marco van Veen (marco.vanveen@rwth-aachen.de)